Burke, Dhillon, Miletic Named OHL Award Nominees

The Ontario Hockey League announced Wednesday the finalists for seven of the league’s major awards for the 2017-18 regular season. Coach Billy Burke, Goaltender Stephen Dhillon and Forward Sam Miletic were all nominated in four categories.

Head Coach Billy Burke is up for the Matt Leyden Award as OHL Coach of the Year. In a year where nine OHL teams featured new bench bosses, only Burke was nominated in a field of veteran coaches. The IceDogs as a team recorded a 24 point improvement over a year ago moving from 8th place in the Eastern Conference to 4th place in 2017-2018.

Stephen Dhillon is one of six nominees for the OHL's Goaltender of the Year. In his fourth season in Niagara, Dhillon recorded a career best 28 wins in 52 games with a 3.34 goals against average.

IceDogs Forward Sam Miletic was selected a finalist twice. Sam will vie for the Leo Lalonde Overager of the Year award on the strength of a 92 point regular season performance. His 38 goals, 20 of those coming in just 28 games for the IceDogs, also sees Miletic named the IceDogs nominee for the Red Tilson Trophy as the OHL Most Outstanding Player of the Year.

OHL award winners will be announced periodically during the playoffs with the award ceremony itself happening on June 6th.