Niagara Falls Council votes to reinstate Councillor Carolynn Ioanonni to Hydro board

Niagara Falls Council voting in favour last night of reinstating Councillor Carolynn Ioannoni to the board of the Niagara Falls Hydro Corporation and also voting in favour of her pay to be reinstated retoactively.

The motion was brought forward by Councillor Kim Craitor who said, when making the motion, that council had gone too far by removing her in the first place. 
She was removed  in June after council voted in favour of a motion brought forward by Councillor Vince Kerrio who also asked her to resign her seat on council following an Integrity Commissioner's report that found she breached confidentiality following an in-camera meeting. 

The motion passed with Councillor Kerrio voting in favour. 

In a recorded vote the only three to vote against were Mayor Jim Diodati and Councillors Joyce Morocco and Wayne Campbell. 

Councillor Mike Strange was absent from last night's meeting and Councillor Ioannoni declared a conflict and did not vote. 

The motion passed 4-3 with Kerrio, Wayne Thomson, Craitor and Vic Pietrangelo voting in favour. 

  • Niagara Votes

    Check out the Niagara Votes section of our website for candidate information and the latest news related to the upcoming 2018 Municipal Election.