Washington wins the Stanley Cup

The Washington Capitals are Stanley Cup champions for the first time in in their 43 year franchise history. 

Lars Eller scored with 7:37 left in the third period as the Capitals defeated the Vegas Golden Knights 4-3 in Game 5 of the best-of-seven final to take the series 4-1.

The Knights tried to write one more chapter in their improbable expansion season, but were unable to find a way as the Capitals spilled on the ice to celebrate the first Cup in their 44-year history.

Alex Ovechkin the Capital's captain  scored his 15th goal of the post-season and was given the Conn Smythe Trophy as the playoff MVP.

Goalie Braden Holtby stopped 28 shots for the win.