Weather office tracking major freezing rain storm

Despite tomorrow's forecast high of 15 C in Niagara, winter seems to be hanging around longer than most of us would like and now Environment Canada is warning of the possibility of a "major ice storm" in parts of southern Ontario this weekend.

A special weather statement issued today covers an area from Woodstock to the Kawarthas, including all of the GTA, Hamilton, and Barrie.

Although there is the possibility of freezing rain Thursday, the real concern appears to to be freezing rain expected on Saturday and Sunday.

The timing and track of the system is still uncertain, but the weather agency is predicting the possibility of prolonged freezing rain.

The hardest hit areas might possibly see 20 millimetres of ice, combined with gusty winds that could result in downed tree limbs and power outages.

Total precipitation for the weekend, including rain, could hit 50 millimetres.

Environment Canada says the risk of freezing rain will be greatest on Sunday.

For once we aren't included in the weather advisory as long as weekend temperature remain above freezing.

Here are the areas under the special weather statement:

Woodstock - Tillsonburg - Oxford County, Brantford - County of Brant, City of Toronto, Uxbridge - Beaverton - Northern Durham Region, Newmarket - Georgina - Northern York Region, Pickering - Oshawa - Southern Durham Region, Vaughan - Richmond Hill - Markham, Midland - Coldwater - Orr Lake, Orillia - Lagoon City - Washago, Barrie - Collingwood - Hillsdale, Fenelon Falls - Balsam Lake Park - Northern Kawartha Lakes, Lindsay - Southern Kawartha Lakes, City of Hamilton, Bruce Peninsula - Sauble Beach - Tobermory, Owen Sound - Blue Mountains - Northern Grey County, Saugeen Shores - Kincardine - Southern Bruce County, Hanover - Dundalk - Southern Grey County, Wingham - Blyth - Northern Huron County, Listowel - Milverton - Northern Perth County, Goderich - Bluewater - Southern Huron County, Stratford - Mitchell - Southern Perth County, Mount Forest - Arthur - Northern Wellington County, Guelph - Erin - Southern Wellington County, Kitchener - Cambridge - Region of Waterloo, Innisfil - New Tecumseth - Angus, Shelburne - Mansfield - Northern Dufferin County, Orangeville - Grand Valley - Southern Dufferin County, Caledon, Mississauga - Brampton, Halton Hills - Milton, Burlington - Oakville