MPP Laurie Scott given portfolio

   Doug Ford declared a new era officially underway in Ontario today as he assumed the reins of the province and unveiled the leaner cabinet tasked with executing his widely touted agenda of fiscal responsibility.
    Ford cruised to victory earlier this month in an election that reduced the governing Liberals to a party without official status.
    Ford has named 20 ministers to cabinet posts, reserving some plum positions for the two women who challenged him for leadership of the party earlier this year.

   Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock MPP Laurie Scott has the labour portfolio.
    Under former premier Kathleen Wynne, cabinet had as many as 30 members.