Pot lottery winners may be announced today

More than two dozen communities across Ontario are going to hear their names called, maybe as early as Friday,  as the province holds its historic 'pot lottery'.  

The Doug Ford government decided to limit the number of retail cannabis shops to 25 in this first round of licences due to product shortages.  

The province has been divided into regions with five going to the eastern Ontario, seven in the west, two in the north, six in the Greater Toronto Area and five in Toronto itself. 

The Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario, which will regulate the province's retail cannabis outlets, has said it will pick the winners randomly today, with the results expected to be announced within 24 hours.

Those selected through the lottery will have five business days to turn in their application along with a $6,000 non-refundable fee and a $50,000 letter of credit.

None of those to be named in this first round will be in Grey Bruce because no community has a population greater than 50,000.

Several communities have decided to 'opt in' however  when the time comes including Owen Sound and Meaford.  

Some still have to make their decisions pending public opinion such as South Bruce Peninsula and Chatsworth.