7 Candidates in the Running for Countryside District

Seven candidates are in the running to take over as Councillor for Countryside District.

Two of those hoping to replace Richard Allen, who resigned in December, are former Councillors for the district Joyce MacLeod-Kane and Jeff Scott.

The others are Ameer Baig, Scott Burton, Louis Cyr, Gary Oosterhof, and Ken Pagratis.

The district spans from the border with Gananoque to the east and stretches all the way west to Odessa and Seeley's Bay in the north.

A by-election to fill the vacant seat is scheduled for May 15.