Quickies: Post Malone, Ed Sheeran & Lady Gaga


POST MALONE ANNOUNCES NEW SINGLE ‘GOODBYES’ FT. YOUNG THUG: Post Malone has announced that his collaboration with Young Thug titled "Goodbyes" is set to be released this Friday. Post took to his Twitter to make the news official and share the album artwork for the single. "GOODBYES JULY 5 MIDNIGHT EST," Post captioned the photo. This marks Posty’s first release of 2019 and his first collaboration with Young Thug.

ED SHEERAN CO-WRITES COUNTRY STAR KENNY CHESNEY’S NEW SINGLE: Country superstar Kenny Chesney tapped a pop superstar to co-write his next single: Ed Sheeran. Sheeran has occasionally branched into country music: his song "The Rest of Our Life" was a hit for country superstars Tim McGraw and Faith Hill in 2017, and last year, Keith Urban released a song called "Parallel Line," which Ed co-wrote. Now, he’s co-written a song called "Tip of My Tongue" with Chesney and top Nashville songwriter Ross Copperman, which will serve as the lead single from Kenny’s next project. "The way creativity works in creative people is so different, but it’s always exciting," Kenny says of Sheeran, adding that writing the song was "one of the most fun sessions I’ve done in a long time. I get why people love working with him." Meanwhile, Ed’s collaboration with yet another country star, Chris Stapleton, arrives this Friday. Ed’s forthcoming album No. 6 Collaborations includes a song called "Blow," which features Stapleton and Bruno Mars.

LADY GAGA, ADELE, MARK RONSON INVITED TO JOIN ACADEMY OF MOTION PICTURE ARTS AND SCIENCES: Lady Gaga, Adele and Mark Ronson are among more than 800 members of the showbiz community who’ve been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which means they can now vote on who wins the Oscars. Gaga was actually invited to join the Academy by two of its branches: Music and Acting. She, along with Mark Ronson, won the Oscar for Best Original Song earlier this year for "Shallow" and she was nominated for Best Actress in A Star Is Born as well. Other notable new Academy members include Eurythmics frontwoman and Oscar winner Annie Lennox, Sterling K. Brown, Black Panther’s Letitia Wright and Winston Duke, The Crown’s Claire Foy, Spider-Man star Tom Holland, Elisabeth Moss, Amanda Peet and Alexander Skarsgard.