Traffic Vinyl Box Set Coming Next Month

The classic Traffic catalogue is finally getting the deluxe box set treatment with the new collection Traffic: The Studio Albums 1967-1974 coming on May 17th. Traffic featured vocalist/organist Steve Winwood, drummer/singer Jim Capaldi, singer/guitarist Dave Mason, and reed player Chris Wood. The new box features the band's classic output, Mr Fantasy (1967); Traffic (1968); John Barleycorn Must Die (1970); The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys (1971); Shoot Out At The Fantasy (1973); and When The Eagle Flies (1974).

According to the press release "Traffic: The Studio Albums 1967-1974 features all six studio albums recorded for the Island Records. The LP's have been remastered from the original tapes and presented in their original and highly collectable 'first' Island pressing form -- gatefold sleeves, pink eye labels, etc. The set also includes a related and super rare facsimile promo poster for each album."

Always revolving around the three core members -- Winwood, Capaldi, and Chris Wood -- Traffic had as few as three and as many as seven members between the years 1967 to 1974. Although Steve Winwood is renown for his genre defining Hammond B-3 Organ and synthesizer work, as most fans who've ever seen him blaze through a killer version of his classic Traffic masterpiece "Dear Mr. Fantasy" will tell you -- Winwood is among the best guitarists in the business. We asked him how he rates himself on the six-string: "I don't see myself as virtuoso by any means. I'm very interested in the art of accompaniment. I think that's a very important thing and often overlooked. And I grew up listening to the great blues guitarists and that had an influence on me, so I was able to improvise in that style, as well. And also, I, sort of, grew up playing various forms of jazz, as well, and not only that -- learning '30s and '40s dance music, which I used to play with my dad. So, I sort of came into rock n' roll. . . 'came into it on a slightly different route than, perhaps, other people."