Weezer Unveils Surprise Covers Collection, 'The Teal Album'

Weezer dropped a surprise self-titled covers record, nicknamed the "Teal Album," on Wednesday (January 23rd). The 10-song collection includes renditions of Eurythmics' "Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)," Michael Jackson's "Billie Jean," Black Sabbath's "Paranoid," Tears For Fears' "Everybody Wants To Rule The World" and of course, Toto's "Africa."

Weezer’s cover of "Africa" became a huge hit last year, their biggest in years, and even inspired Toto to record its own take on Weezer's 2001 hit "Hash Pipe." Most of the covers on the "Teal Album" have been posted to Weezer's YouTube channel.

The next set of original Weezer music, the long-awaited "Black Album," will be released on March 1st, 2019. The quartet's 13th studio effort will follow up 2017's Pacific Daydream, which was recently nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Rock Album.

The "Black Album" will be Weezer’s sixth color-coded release, following 1994's "Blue Album," 2001's "Green" LP, the "Red Album" in 2008, the "White Album" in 2016 and now the "Teal Album." Frontman Rivers Cuomo described the record to NME as "darker" and "more experimental and wildly negative."