Fortis BC award recipients honored

Ten regional organizations were recipients of the annual Fortis BC Efficiency in Action Awards in Kelowna on Tuesday afternoon.

These awards recognize organizations who have taken steps to reduce their carbon footprint through various energy-efficient methods.

“There’s a really wide variety of initiatives,” says Fortis Energy Supply Vice President Dennis Swanson. “Starting at the low end at LED lighting, up to a sawmill in Castlegar who have replaced their hydraulics with electric servos to reduce energy.”

Another award recipient was Kelly O’Bryan’s Restaurant and Carlos O’Bryan’s Pub, thanks to some major overhauls.

“We’ve been renovating a lot of our locations, and every piece of equipment that went in was energy efficient,” says co-partner Scott Fraser.

In total, these ten organizations have saved 6,700 megawatt hours, which is enough to power 600 homes for a year.

Interior Health Corporate Director Lorne Sisley says this benefits the actual facilities as much as it benefits the environment.

“It helps us invest in our facilities so that we can make savings in utility costs, and therefore put money back into patient care,” says Sisley.”

Last year, Fortis BC provided customers with $26 million in incentives to lower natural gas and electricity use.

Here’s a full list of this year’s recipients:




Large commercial customer

Central Okanagan Public Schools


Industrial customer

Interfor Corporation, Castlegar Division


Public sector – provincial

Interior Health

various locations

Public sector – municipal

City of Castlegar



Kelly/Carlos O'Bryan's Neighborhood Restaurants & Pubs

various locations

Medium commercial customer

Orchard Park Shopping Centre, managed by Primaris Management Inc.


Small commercial customer

The Innovation Centre, Sustainable Innovation Group LP


Multi-family project

Sendero Gate Townhomes Ltd. a division of Azura Management Corp.


Single family project

Alder Projects Ltd.

West Kelowna

Single family builder

Lithium One Homes Ltd.

Prince George