Rockets' Hamilton, Lind win Western Conference honours

The WHL has annoucned its conference award winners today, ahead of the league's awards ceremony on May 3.

The Rockets were represented from the top-down, starting with President and GM Bruce Hamilton, who's been nominated for the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy, given to the league's top executive.

Hamilton was named as the best in the West, and is up for the award with John Paddock from the Regina Pats.

Hamilton is a two-time winner of the Lloyd Saunders, having won back in 92-93, and 02-03.

As well, Rockets leading scorer Kole Lind was named as a forward on the Western Conference's second team of all-stars.

Lind had 30 goals and 87 points iin 70 games for the Rockets this season.

He and the Rockets will face fellow second team all-star Connor Ingram and the Kamloops Blazers in the first round of the playoffs.

Games 1 and 2 will be played on Friday and Saturday night in Kelowna, with Games 3 and 4 set for next Tuesday and Wednesday in Kamloops.