Ford Conservatives Release LCBO Expansion Locations

The provincial government has released its list of communities eligible for LCBO convenience outlet locations.

Some of the communities in Windsor-Essex and Chatham-Kent on the list include Colchester, Cottam, Puce, South Woodslee, St. Joachim, Morpeth and Rondeau. 

According to a release from the Ministry of Finance, up to 150 stores will be authorized between June and December 2019. 

Grocers will be selected through a lottery process and the successful ones will then apply to the Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario for an authorization and enter into a wholesale supply agreement with the LCBO.

The first 60 stores are expected to open starting in August, and up to 90 more will open by December 2019.

A second wave of authorizations will see more stores opening in spring 2020.