OHL Hands Out Year End Hardware

The OHL handed out year end hardware today at the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Among those honoured was Spitfires' Michael DiPietro, who was named the league's top goaltender.

Former Spitfire Aaron Luchuk won the Eddie Powers Trophy as the league's regular season scoring champ, as well as being named OHL overage player of the year.


Michael DiPietro of the Windsor Spitfires (Photo by Terry Wilson / OHL Images)

2017-18 OHL Award Winners...

Jordan Kyrou (Sarnia Sting) – Red Tilson Trophy / Most Outstanding Player

Nicolas Hague (Mississauga Steelheads) – Max Kaminsky Trophy / Defenceman of the Year

Michael DiPietro (Windsor Spitfires) – Goaltender of the Year

Andrei Svechnikov (Barrie Colts) – Emms Family Award / Rookie of the Year

Drew Bannister (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds) – Matt Leyden Trophy / Coach of the Year

Aaron Luchuk (Barrie Colts) – Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy and Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy / Top Scorer and Overage Player of the Year

Nick Suzuki (Owen Sound Attack) – William Hanley Memorial Trophy / Most Sportsmanlike Player

Garrett McFadden (Guelph Storm) – Dan Snyder Memorial Trophy / Humanitarian of the Year

Justin Lemcke (Hamilton Bulldogs) – Mickey Renaud Captain’s Trophy

Barrett Hayton (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds) – Bobby Smith Trophy / Scholastic Player of the Year

Stephen Gibson (Mississauga Steelheads) – Roger Neilson Memorial Award / Top Academic University Player

Mack Guzda (Owen Sound Attack) – Ivan Tennant Memorial Award / Top Academic High School Player

Quinton Byfield (Sudbury Wolves) – Jack Ferguson Award / First overall pick in OHL Priority Selection

Kevin Hastings – Ken Bodendistel Character Award for Officials


— with files from AM800's Paul McDonald