Rychel, Spitfires Join Elite Company

The Spitfires and several members of the franchise have joined some elite company following Windsor's 4-3 victory ver the Erie Otters to win the Memorial Cup.

Windsor is the first team that didn't win their league title to capture the Memorial Cup since the 2012 Shawinigan Cataractes.

Windsor's 12th consecutive victory at the Memorial Cup ties an event record set by the Kamloops Blazers between 1992-95. The four wins in a row at this year's tournament is on top of eight straight wins dating back to the 2009 and 2010 tournments.

The Spitfires third Memorial Cup title equals the Cornwall Royals (1972, 1980, 1981) and the Blazers (1992, 1994, 1995) for the most championships won since the introduction of the round robin format in 1972.

Spitfires general manager Warren Rychel joins Matt Leyden (Oshawa Generals, 1939, 1940, 1944) and Bob Brown (Kamloops Blazers, 1992, 1994, 1995) as the third GM in Memorial Cup history to win three career championships.

Jeremy Bracco, who led the Spitfires in scoring with eight points, became the 24th player in tournament history to hoist the Memorial Cup in the same year as having won World Junior Hockey Championship gold. Bracco claimed World Junior supremacy with the United States in January, becoming the first Spitfires player to accomplish both feats since Cam Fowler did so in 2010.

The Windsor Spitfires are the 99th champion in Memorial Cup history, and the third straight champion from the Ontario Hockey League which marks the first time in the event’s modern era that the OHL has produced three straight winners.