Wright to be Chosen First in 2019 OHL Draft

The latest player to receive exceptional status in the Ontario Hockey League will be chosen first overall by the Kingston Frontenacs.

Forward Shane Wright was granted exceptional-player status last month after a review by Hockey Canada -- and the Frontenacs have announced he will  be selected first overall in Saturday's OHL Priority Selection. 

Frontenacs president Doug Gilmour confirmed the pick Friday.

The league traditionally allows teams with the first selection to make the announcement a day before the draft.

Wright, 15, helped the Don Mills Flyers win the OHL Cup minor-midget championship this season.

Wright is the sixth player to be given exceptional-player status in the CHL since the policy was introduced in 2005, allowing players to apply to enter a draft a year early.

The list includes John Tavares, Aaron Ekblad, Connor McDavid and Sean Day in the OHL and Joe Veleno in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.

Sean Day was the only player not to be selected first overall. Day was chosen fourth in the 2013 OHL draft by the Mississauga Steelheads.