Inaugural Research Nova Scotia board appointed

The provincial government has named the inaugural board of directors for an organization created to advance research in universities and the Nova Scotia Community College.

The Research Nova Scotia Act was proclaimed, and its regulations enacted, Tuesday.

The board meets for the first time on December 20th to look at the recruitment of a chief executive officer and determine how the board and corporation will operate. 

Government established the Research Nova Scotia Trust with a $25 million initial investment in 2016-17, with another $20 million in 2017-18.

The province says the trust has provided $18.7 million in funding to 44 research projects to date, and any remaining funds will be moved from the trust to Research Nova Scotia in April.

Research Nova Scotia is said to bring together funding, staff, and programs from the Nova Scotia Research and Innovation Trust and Nova Scotia Health Research Foundation.

The members of the Research Nova Scotia board are:

  • Alice Aiken, vice-president, research and innovation, Dalhousie University
  • Don Bureaux, president, Nova Scotia Community College
  • Chuck Maillet, vice-president, Nova Scotia, Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
  • Mary Bluechardt, president, Mount Saint Vincent University
  • David Dingwall, president, Cape Breton University
  • Allister Surette, president, Université Saint-Anne
  • Duff Montgomerie, deputy minister, Department of Labour and Advanced Education
  • Bernie Miller, deputy minister, Department of Business
  • Denise Perret, deputy minister, Department of Health and Wellness
  • Nicholas Nickerson, chief scientist and co-founder, Eosense 
  • Jeffrey Norrie, chief science officer, Breathing Green Solutions
  • David Woolnough, retired from a career in research