Truro and Colchester Chamber of Commerce elects new president

Alex Stevenson of CIBC has been elected the new president of the Truro & Colchester Chamber of Commerce.

The chamber recently celebrated its 127th anniversary at its annual general meeting in Truro, where Stevenson recognized the commitment to the organization of past-president Andrew Lake, who served two consecutive terms and will remain on the board as past-president.

Stevenson says his intention "is to continue to build on the momentum we have created and continue to focus on the key initiatives that we have outlined in our 2017 Business Plan."

Some of those initiatives include supporting tourism marketing efforts, advancing economic development, lobbying for transportation and infrastructure improvements, and supporting youth retention.

Other newly elected executives and directors are:
Vice-President: Dan Clarke, Stanfields
Past-President: Andrew Lake, Will-Kare Paving and Contracting
Treasurer: Joanne McRae, MNP
Solicitor: Heidi Walsh-Sampson, Patterson Law
Directors: Don Locke,  RBC; Dr. David Gray, Dean of Dalhousie Agricultural Campus; Karen Baillie, Elegant Steps; Karen Gillespie, Nova Scotia Community College; Fran Grant, Remax/Fairlane Realty; Matt Robblee, Caldwell-Roach Insurance; Ron Smith, Old Fletcher’s Farm Property Ltd., Masstown Market; Bob Brown E. Lynds Enterprises; Nancy Johnstone, Lock and Stone Property Management; Peter Theisen P.T. Property Care; Connie Baird, Party Time Rentals; Sam Abushenaf, PuroClean Restorations.