Get to know this Electoral District:

Esquimalt-Metchosin is a newly redrawn electoral district, which actually returns the original name used before Esquimalt-Royal Roads was created for the 2009 election. The new Esquimalt-Metchosin now sheds the Vic West neighbourhood of Victoria and expands into more of the West Shore.

Regardless of changing names and borders, the area has been represented by the NDP’s Maurine Karagianis since 2005. In the 2013 election, Karagianis won with 10,963 votes, Liberal Chris Ricketts was second (6,511 votes), Green Party’s Susan Low third (4,928 votes), independent Josh Steffler was fourth (343 votes).

Karagianis is not running again in 2017, making it an interesting race to watch as Mitzi Dean tries to maintain the NDP’s hold. Esquimalt Mayor Barb Desjardins is a high-profile challenger for the Liberals. 

Watch the full candidate debate now:

Provincial Election 2017 on CFAX 1070: Esquimalt-Metchosin candidate debate.