Victoria-Beacon Hill


Get to know this Electoral District

Victoria-Beacon Hill represents much of the city of Victoria and now, because of a recent adjustment to the electoral map, it includes the Victoria neighbourhood of Vic-West, which used to fall under the previous Esquimalt-Royal Roads electoral district.

Victoria-Beacon Hill has been held by the New Democrats since it was created in 1991, except for one Liberal Party win during their landslide victory in 2001.

Since 2005, former NDP Leader Carole James has represented the district. Her most recent win, in 2013, was comfortable with 12,697 votes, followed by the Green Party’s Jane Sterk (8,796), Liberal Karen Bill (4,386) and Communist John Shaw (131).

Watch the debate