Lowest Of The Low Previews Album With 'The Barricade'

Canadian alt-rock band Lowest Of The Low is previewing its new album Agitpop, out May 31, with the release of “The Barricade.”

Frontman Ron Hawkins said, in a release, that Agitpop is a collection of songs about “revolution and redistribution… liberation, love and justice” – and one of the most overtly political albums he’s ever written.

He explained: “It’s been a while since I felt the need to take the small ‘p' in the politics of my songwriting and capitalize it. 

"But with fascism on the rise again throughout the world and with the steaming wreckage of Neo-Liberalism proving that it has no answers for the liberation of the world’s population it’s time to hit ‘caps lock’ on that ‘P' once again.”

Agitpop was recorded in Toronto with producer David Botrill, who has worked with Tool, Muse and Smashing Pumpkins. It’s the band’s sixth studio album and first since 2017’s Do the Right Now.

Lowest Of The Low will perform a series of shows throughout Ontario beginning May 31. 

Directed by Tim Thompson, the video for “The Barricade” is an ode to workers. Check it out below: (Warning: Contains language some may find offensive.)

Agitpop track listing:

Bonnie & Clyde

Bottle Rockets

The Ballad of Late-Era Capitalism

When She Falls

New Wave Action Plan

F-Noise (Rebel Radio)

The Barricade

Night Of A Thousand Guns

Love ‘N’ Justice



Midnight Maryanne

A Thousand Lights

Permanent Revolution