Polaris Music Prize Long List Revealed


Albums by Shawn Mendes, Carly Rae Jepsen and Jessie Reyez are on a list of contenders announced Thursday for the Polaris Music Prize short list.

They’re in the running against veterans like Shad, Jean Leloup and Voivod.

Canadian albums that came out during the year ended May 31, 2019 were eligible for consideration by a group of music industry insiders and journalists, based “solely on artistic merit, without consideration for genre or record sales.”

A short list of 10 albums from the 40 announced today will be named on July 16 and the winner will be crowned on Sept. 16.

The Polaris Music Prize comes with a cash prize of $50,000 and the nine others on the short-list will get $3,000 each.

Last year's winning album was Jeremy Dutcher's Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa and previous winners include Arcade Fire, Tanya Taqaq and Feist. 

Here is this year’s long list:

 Tim Baker - Forever Overhead

Tanika Charles - The Gumption

Clairmont The Second - Do You Drive?

Charlotte Cornfield - The Shape of Your Name

Marie Davidson - Working Class Woman

Dilly Dally - Heaven

The Dirty Nil - Master Volume

Dizzy - Baby Teeth

Elisapie - The Ballad of the Runaway Girl

FET.NAT - Le Mal

Dominique Fils-Aimé - Stay Tuned!

Fucked Up - Dose Your Dreams

Yves Jarvis - The Same But By Different Means

Carly Rae Jepsen - Dedicated

Kaia Kater - Grenades

Kimmortal - X Marks the Swirl

La Force - La Force

LAL - Dark Beings

Laurence-Anne - Première apparition

Salomé Leclerc - Les choses extérieures

Lee Harvey Osmond - Mohawk

Jean Leloup - L'étrange pays

Shay Lia - Dangerous

Les Louanges - La nuit est une panthère

Loud - Tout ça pour ça

Shawn Mendes - Shawn Mendes

Haviah Mighty - 13th Floor

Operators - Radiant Dawn

Orville Peck - Pony

Sandro Perri - In Another Life

PUP - Morbid Stuff

Lee Reed - The Steal City EP

Jessie Reyez - Being Human In Public

Shad - A Short Story About a War

Snotty Nose Rez Kids - Trapline

Alexandra Stréliski - Inscape

sydanie - 999


Voivod - The Wake

Wintersleep - In The Land Of