Maritime Hockey League announces Canadian Tire Cup

The Maritime Hockey League (MHL) has announced a new multi-year agreement that will see Canadian Tire secured as the title sponsor of the league's playoffs and the championship trophy.

The Canadian Tire Cup will be awarded to the MHL's playoff champion beginning this season.

The Callaghan Cup became the exclusive trophy of the Maritime Junior A Hockey League beginning in the 1991-92 season and changed in 2005-06 to the Kent Cup.

After eleven seasons, the trophy changed to the Maritime Hockey League Championship in 2016-17.

(Submitted photo)