Acadie-Bathurst Titan defenseman receives 'Golden Puck Award'

An Acadie-Bathurst Titan player is a 'Golden Puck Award' winner.  

The annual awards gala was held Wednesday night in Brossard, Quebec and seek to recognize the most outstanding players and personalities of 2017-18 season.

Titan defenseman Olivier Galipeau was awarded the Emile-Bouchard Trophy for Defenseman of the Year.

Galipeau notched 25 goals and 74 points this season and was first in both categories among all Q-League defensemen.

He also maintained a plus/minus differential of +39.

Noah Dobson, meanwhile, was named to the QMJHL's first All-Star team.

Golden Puck Award winners:

  • Jacques-Plante Trophy(Goaltender with best goals-against-average): Samuel Harvey - Rouyn-Noranda Huskies;
  • Rookie of the Year:  Alexis Lafreniere - Rimouski Oceanic;
  • Ron Lapointe Trophy(Coach of the Year):  Joel Bouchard - Blainville-Boisbriand Armada;
  • Marcel Robert Trophy(Scholastic Player of the Year):  Alexandre Alain - Blainville-Boisbriand Armada;
  • Emile Bouchard Trophy(Defenseman of the Year):  Olivier Galipeau - Acadie-Bathurst Titan;
  • Frank J. Selke Trophy(Most Sportsmanlike and Efficient Player):  Joel Teasdale - Blainville-Boisbriand Armada;
  • Humanitarian Trophy:  Vincent Tremblay-Lapalme - Chicoutimi Sagueneens;
  • Maurice Filion Trophy(General Manager of the Year):  Serge Beausoleil - Rimouski Oceanic;
  • Jean-Beliveau Trophy(Top Scorer):  Alex Barre-Boulet - Blainville-Boisbriand Armada;
  • Michael Bossy Trophy(Top Professional Prospect):  Filip Zadina - Halifax Mooseheads;
  • Paul Dumont Trophy(Personality of the Year):  Dominique Ducharme - Drummondville Voltigeurs;
  • Michel Briere Trophy(Most Valuable Player):  Alex Barre-Boulet - Blainville-Boisbriand Armada.

All-Star Teams

1st All-Star Team
G                     Samuel Harvey(Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
D                     Noah Dobson(Acadie-Bathurst Titan)
D                     Olivier Galipeau(Acadie-Bathurst Titan)
LW                  Alexis Lafreniere(Rimouski Océanic)
C                     Alex Barré-Boulet(Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)
RW                 Filip Zadina(Halifax Mooseheads)
2nd All-Star Team
G                     Colten Ellis(Rimouski Oceanic)
D                     Nicolas Beaudin(Drummondville Voltigeurs)
D                     Charle-Edouard D’Astous(Rimouski Océanic)
LW                  Maxime Comtois(Victoriaville Tigres)
C                     Vitalii Abramov (Victoriaville Tigres)
RW                 Alexandre Alain(Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)
Rookie All-Star Team
G                     Colten Ellis(Rimouski Oceanic)
D                     Justin Barron(Halifax Mooseheads)
D                     Radim Salda(Saint John Sea Dogs)
LW                  Alexis Lafreniere(Rimouski Oceanic)
C                     Jakob Pelletier(Moncton Wildcats)
RW                 Filip Zadina(Halifax Mooseheads)

Five junior hockey legends were also inducted into the QMJHL's prestigious Hockey Hall of Fame including Danny Groulx, Stephane Quintal, Marc Denis, Vincent Lecavalier, and Eric Taylor(posthumous).

The league says the inductees are an inspiration to present-day players who may one day make it into the prestigious institution.