Grand Falls officers recoginzed for work after Fredericton shooting

Fredericton Police Chief Leanne Fitch presented certificates of recognition to 6 Grand Falls Police officers who assisted Fredericton Police in the aftermath of last August's mass shooting.

Chuck Chiasson, MLA for Victoria-La-Vallée said "It is often said that when a law enforcement officer is killed, it is not only an agency that loses an officer, it is an entire nation."

"Today, we gather to honour, to acknowledge and to thank these members of the law enforcement family, who without hesitation pitched in to help maintain law and order as the Fredericton police as well the city of Fredericton grappled to deal with this tragedy."

The officers present at the ceremony included Const. Paul Lavoie, Const. Félix Delasablonnière, Const. Alain Rioux and Const. Éric Cassista, while Const. Francis Bernier and Sergeant Kevin Geraghty were unable to attend.

Chief Fitch also presented a plaque to the Town of Grand Falls to thank the community for their support after the shooting.

On August 10, 2018  Const. Robb Costello and Const. Sarah Burns were shot after responding to the shooting of civilians Donnie Robichaud and Bobbie Lee Wright at an apartment complex on Brookside Drive in Fredericton.