New members invested into the Order of New Brunswick

Eleven new members were invested into the Order of New Brunswick at a ceremony this week in Fredericton.

The chancellor of the order, Lt.-Gov. Jocelyne Roy Vienneau led the ceremony on November 27 at Government House.

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their particular field.

This year's inductees were presented with an Order of New Brunswick medal and are entitled to use the initial ONB after their names.

This year's recipients are:

-    Judy Astle, from Boiestown, for her outstanding commitment to sportsmanship and leadership in her community and throughout New Brunswick;
-    Charles Bernard, from Balmoral, for his commitment to the protection of vulnerable people and his passion for community involvement;
-    Roberta Dugas, from Caraquet, for her long-standing service to her community and for her outstanding leadership in the nursing profession;
-    Louise Imbeault, from Moncton, for her impact on the social and cultural life of New Brunswick through her contributions to the field of media and  communications and also within the Acadian community;
-    Gaetan Lanteigne, from Haut-Sheila (now part of Tracadie), for his outstanding work in the economic development of his community and the province of New Brunswick;
-    Walter John Learning, from Fredericton, for his achievements in the performing arts and for his contributions to the theatre community and industry in New Brunswick;
-    James Lockyer, from Moncton, for his extraordinary volunteerism and outstanding contributions to the legal profession;
-    Rebecca Schofield (posthumous), from Riverview, for inspiring New Brunswickers to be kind to each other and uniting the province through selfless acts of compassion and generosity;
-    Eileen Wallace, from Fredericton, for her trail-blazing achievements in bilingual education and for her outstanding impact on children's literacy;
-    Ed and Eke van Oorschot, from Black River, for their exemplary and long-standing passion for social justice and for their commitment to protecting vulnerable people in their community and across New Brunswick;