Nominations open for municipal by-elections

Elections New Brunswick says nominations have opened in 12 communities to fill 14 vacancies in by-elections scheduled Monday May 6.

According to a press release, residents in the local service districts of Collette, the parish of Acadieville, the parish of Rogersville, and parts of the local service districts of the parish of Harcourt, the parish of Saint-Louis and the parish of Wldford will vote in a plebiscite on forming a rural community with the Village of Rogersville.

Elections New Brunswick says the vacant positions are:
- Ward 4 Councilor; Beaubassin East
- Councilor; Bertrand
- 2 Councilors; Blacks Harbour
- Mayor; Campobello
- Councilor for Ward 2; Florenceville-Bristol
- Councilor-at-large; Hanwell
- Councilor; Le Goulet
- Councilor; Paquetville
- Councilor; Rivière-Verte 
- Councilor; Salisbury
- Councilor for Ward 3; Saint John
- Mayor & One Councilor; Sainte-Marie-Saint-Raphaël

"Elections New Brunswick strongly encourages residents in these communities to consider offering for these important positions," said Municipal Electoral Officer Kimberly Poffenroth.

Nominations close at 2:00 p.m. on Friday April 12.