Over 5,100 New Brunswickers cast ballots in municipal by-elections this week

More than 5,100 eligible New Brunswick voters cast ballots in municipal by-elections on Monday.

Elections New Brunswick's website pegs voter turnout at 21.05 per cent.

  • Beaubassin East:   Richard P. Ratelle was acclaimed councillor for Ward 4;
  • Bertrand:  Isabelle Nowlan was acclaimed as councillor;
  • Blacks Harbour:  Heather Chase and Guy Maillet were each elected as councillors;
  • Campobello Island:  Brett C. Newman was elected mayor;
  • Florenceville-Bristol:  David Trafford was elected councillor for Ward 2;
  • Hanwell:  Dan Fortier was elected Councillor at Large;
  • Le Goulet:  Renalda Savoie was elected councillor;
  • Paquetville:  Carole Robichaud was acclaimed as councillor;
  • Riviere-Verte:  Amelie Frenette was acclaimed to one council seat;
  • Saint John:  David Hickey was elected councillor for Ward 3;
  • Sainte-Marie-Sainte-Raphael:  Bernard Savoie has been acclaimed mayor while Onile Mallet was elected councillor.

Meanwhile, voters in Local Service Districts voted against forming a 'Rural Community of Rogersville'.

More than 1,100 voters cast ballots in the plebiscite for a voter turnout of 73.92 per cent.