QMJHL recognizes player accomplishments at Golden Puck Awards gala

The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League's annual Golden Puck Awards and Hall of Fame induction ceremonies took place last night in Quebec City.

Acadie-Bathurst Titan forward Christophe Boivin and former Titan captain Guillaume Brisebois, now with the Carhlottetown Islanders, were named to the league's second All-Star team's roster.

Halifax Moosehead's Nico Hischier, meanwhile, won two awards, including Rookie of the Year and Best Professional Prospect, and was named to the league's Rookie All-Star team.

Five new members were inducted to the Q-League Hall of Fame including, Luc Lachapelle, Francis Bouillon, Gaston Therrien, JS Giguère and Brad Richards.

QMJHL commissioner Gilles Courteau says it's the one night where competition is set aside to break bread as an extended hockey family.

Now that the festivities have wrapped up, the focus is on the second round of the playoffs.

The Acadie-Bathurst Titan open up their second round best-of-seven series on the road on Thursday, April 6th against the Blainville-Boisbriand Armada.

Semi-final action returns to the KC Irving Centre on Tuesday, April 11th for Game Three.

Award Winners:

Jacques-Plante Trophy – Goaltender with the best goals-against-average:  Francis Leclerc(Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)

Rookie of the Year:  Nico Hischier(Halifax Mooseheads)

Ron-Lapointe Trophy – Coach of the Year:  Dany Flynn(Saint John Sea Dogs)

Marcel-Robert Trophy – Scholastic Player of the Year:  Antoine Samuel(Baie-Comeau Drakkar)

Emile-Bouchard Trophy – Defenseman of the Year:  Thomas Chabot(Saint John Sea Dogs)

Humanitarian and Community Involvement Trophy:  Samuel Laberge(Rimouski Océanic)

Frank-J.-Selke – Most sportsmanlike player:  Hugo Roy(Sherbrooke Pheonix)

Michael Bossy Trophy – Best professional prospect:  Nico Hischier(Halifax Mooseheads)

Maurice Filion Trophy – General Manager of the Year:  Joël Bouchard(Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)

Paul-Dumont Trophy – Personality of the year:  Thomas Chabot(Saint John Sea Dogs)

Michel-Brière Trophy – Most Valuable Player:  Vitalii Abramov(Gatineau Olympqiues)

1st All-Star Team

Mikhail Denisov(Shawinigan Cataractes)
Thomas Chabot(Saint John Sea Dogs)
Samuel Girard(Shawinigan Cataractes)
Nicolas Roy(Chicoutimi Saguenéens)
Giovannie Fiore(Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)
Vitalii Abramov(Gatineau Olympiques)

2nd All-Star Team

Samuel Montembeault(Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)
Guillaume Brisebois(Charlottetown Islanders)
Simon Bourque(Saint John Sea Dogs)
Filip Chlapik(Charlottetown Islanders)
Christophe Boivin(Acadie-Bathurst Titan)
Mathieu Joseph(Saint John Sea Dogs)

Rookie All-Star Team

Alexis Gravel (Halifax Mooseheads)
Jared McIsaac(Halifax Mooseheads)
Xavier Bouchard(Baie-Comeau Drakkar)
Nico Hischier(Halifax Mooseheads)
Anderson Macdonald(Sherbrooke Phoenix)
Ivan Kosorenkov(Victoriaville Tigres)