Avril Lavigne Debuts Song, Announces Album Release Date


Avril Lavigne announced Wednesday that her highly anticipated sixth studio album Head Above Water will be out Feb. 15.

The Canadian singer also released the second single off the 12-track collection, “Tell Me It’s Over,” along with a video.

Lavigne described the new song as “an anthem about being strong, finally putting your foot down and closing the door on a relationship that you know is wrong after time and time again of falling for their games.”

MORE: Avril Lavigne Debuts Video For "Head Above Water"

She added that she was inspired by female greats like Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, Etta James and Aretha Franklin. “They represent women who stand up for women and aren’t going to put up with a man’s bulls**t anymore,” Lavigne explained, in a release.

“The vocals and the lyrics are very vulnerable which is reflective of the feelings I had in relationships like these.”

That vulnerability is reflected in the album's cover art, which shows Lavigne sitting naked in water holding an acoustic guitar.

MORE: Avril Lavigne Calls New Album "A True Emotional Journey"

"Tell Me It's Over" and the previously-released title track are part of an album that Lavigne hopes will resonate with people.

“I’ve really opened up on this record more than I ever have before,” she said. “Each song tells a story that will hopefully inspire others to believe in themselves and stand up for what they know is right and what they truly deserve!”

Lavigne has not put out a collection of new music since her self-titled fifth studio album in 2013.

Here’s the track listing for Head Above Water, which is available now for pre-order:

1. Head Above Water

2. Birdie

3. I Fell In Love With The Devil

4. Tell Me It’s Over

5. Dumb Blonde

6. It Was In Me

7. Souvenir

8. Crush

9. Goddess

10. Bigger Wow

11. Love Me Insane

12. Warrior

Watch the video for “Tell Me It’s Over” below: