Feist Releases Gritty New Song ‘Pleasure’

Fans didn’t have long to wait between the time Feist announced her new album, Pleasure, and hearing its first music. Thursday (Mar. 16), the Canadian singer released the album’s title track, “Pleasure”.

Coming in just under five minutes, the song cycles through genres with a gritty sound reminiscent of her work on 2011’s Metals. She sings, “I make sense of a mysterious thing/ 'Cause I've taken flight on such a serious wing/ I, and you are the same and/ Either fiction or dreaming.”

MORE: Feist’s New Album ‘Pleasure’ Due Out April

Pleasure is the singer’s first major work in six years. It was written with close collaborators Mocky and Renaud LeTang, who worked on both Metals and The Reminder.

"Our desire was to record that state without guile or go-to's and to pin the songs down with conviction and our straight up human bodies," Feist said of the album, adding, "I titled the album Pleasure like I was planting a seed or prophecising some brightness."

Pleasure is due out for release April 28. Listen to “Pleasure” below: