Pearl Jam Invites Former Drummers To Rock Hall Induction

While being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is an honour for most bands, it also causes problems for some who don't know which former members to invite to the ceremony. 

That started to be a problem for Pearl Jam and their four ex-drummers, but the group came up with a solution - invite all of them.

Soon after the announcement that Pearl Jam would be inducted, former drummer Dave Abbruzzese expressed anger that even though he was on some of the group's greatest records and played nearly 300 shows with them, he wouldn't be part of the ceremony.

In response, the band posted a handwritten letter on Twitter explaining that they're inviting Abbruzzese as well as other former drummers Dave Krusen, Matt Chamberlain and Jack Irons.

"We do feel fortunate to be recognized and provided the opportunity to reunite with everyone who has been part of the group,” the note reads. “Specifically the drummers who all left their distinctive mark on our band in the pre-Matt Cameron years."

The group also wrote that their ex-drummers "are each individually great players who gave their all to the early recordings and live gigs" and that they are "looking forward to seeing them and all the other musicians on the bill."

While all the drummers are now invited, the only ones who will be inducted are current drummer Matt Cameron and Dave Krusen, who was behind the kit on Ten. That's because the Hall decides on inductees, not the band.

Canadian Neil Young will induct the band on April 7 in Brooklyn. Other inductees include Yes, Journey, Joan Baez, ELO, Tupac Shakur and Nile Rodgers.

Original article by Dave Basner at iHeartRadio