Shawn Mendes Shares 'Nervous' Ahead Of Album Release

Shawn Mendes released on Wednesday the fifth single from his new album, which comes out on Friday.

“Nervous” is a catchy track that borrows from Selena Gomez’s “Bad Liar” (both songs were co-written by Julia Michaels) and lets Mendes show off his falsetto.

“I felt like I was allowed to just be free with the music and I was allowed to experiment on what I wanted to do with that Prince kind of sounding tone in the chorus,” Mendes explained on YouTube, “and create not a cocky song, but that cocky type of feeling in the music.”

MORE: Shawn Mendes Calls For LGBT Acceptance

Fans have already been able to grab “In My Blood,” “Lost in Japan,” “Youth,” and “Where Were You in the Morning?” from the Canadian singer’s third album. Also among the 14 tracks is “Fallin’ All in You,” which was written with Ed Sheeran and Johnny McDaid of Snow Patrol.