Sheryl Crow Surprises With New Song, Album, Tour Announcement

She’s back! Grammy Award-winning singer-songwriter Sheryl Crow today (Mar. 3) announced her ninth studio album, Be Myself. She released a lyric video for its first single, “Halfway There”, and followed up with a tour announcement.

Crow announced the news last night at a surprise gig in West Hollywood where she played old hits and several tracks from the upcoming album for those in attendance.

In creating music for Be Myself, the 55-year-old worked with long-time collaborator Jeff Trott, the man behind hits like “If It Makes You Happy” and “My Favourite Mistake”. In a statement, Crow said that she revisited her back catalogue to decipher what made her songs so “authentic and original.”

“So for the first time in my life,” she continued, “I made it a point to sit down and really listen to my old records. I’d drive my kids to school and play the old stuff as I came back home. That helped me remember what it felt like when I was just beginning as an artist. But it wasn’t about repeating myself. It was about revisiting where I came from and seeing where that would take me now.”

The singer has yet to confirm any Canadian dates on her tour, but has stated more dates will be announced shortly. The tracklist for Be Myself is as follows:

1. “Alone In The Dark”
2. “Halfway There”
3. “Long Way Back”
4. “Be Myself”
5. “Roller Skate”
6. “Love Will Save The Day”
7. “Strangers Again”
8. “Rest Of Me”
9. “Heartbeat Away”
10. “Grow Up”
11. “Woo Woo”

Be Myself will drop April 19. Watch the lyric video for “Halfway There” below: