The Chainsmokers Win Big At iHeartRadio Music Awards

Justin Bieber was named Male Artist of the Year at the 2017 iHeartRadio Music Awards on Sunday.

Bieber beat out fellow Canadians Drake, Shawn Mendes and The Weeknd in the category. His song “Love Yourself” — co-written with Ed Sheeran and Benny Blanco — was named the winner of the Best Lyrics award. 

Drake was named Hip-Hop Artist of the Year and The Weeknd won R&B Artist of the Year.

Drake — who lead with 12 nominations this year — won Hip-Hop Album of the Year (Views) and his track with Rihanna, “Work,” won R&B Song of the Year and Best Collaboration. The Toronto rap superstar was also voted Most Thumbed Up Artist of the Year and “One Dance,” his collaboration with Wizkid and Kyla, won Most Thumbed Up Song of the Year.

Canadian band The Strumbellas won Best New Rock/Alternative Rock Artist.

The big winners of the night were The Chainsmokers, who were on hand to accept Best New Artist, Best New Pop Artist, Dance Artist of the Year, Dance Album of the Year (Collage), and Dance Song of the Year (“Closer”).

Twenty One Pilots were named winners of Best Duo/Group of the Year, Best Alternative Rock Song of the Year (“Heathens”), Alternative Rock Artist of the Year, and Alternative Rock Album of the Year (Blurryface).

Christopher Polk / Getty Images

Adele won Female Artist of the Year and her 25 was named Pop Album of the Year.

Green Day’s “Bang Bang” won Rock Song of the Year, Disturbed was named Rock Artist of the Year, and Hardwired… to Self-Destruct by Metallica earned Rock Album of the Year.

Chance the Rapper won Best New Hip-Hop Artist, Bryson Tiller was named Best New R&B Artist, and Rihanna’s Anti took the prize for R&B Album of the Year.

Fifth Harmony’s version of “Ex’s and Oh’s” was voted Best Cover Song and the foursome’s fans, the Harmonizers, were named Best Fan Army.

MORE: Watch Memorable Acceptance Speeches

Country category winners were Dierks Bentley, Thomas Rhett, Kelsea Ballerini and Chris Stapleton.

Zayn’s “Pillowtalk” earned the iHeartRadio Music Award for Best Music Video and “Girls Talk Boys” by 5 Seconds of Summer was named Best Song from a Movie.

Best Tour went to Coldplay’s A Head Full of Dreams Tour, which comes to Montreal, Toronto, Edmonton and Vancouver this summer.

Kevin Winter / Getty Images

The night’s first award — Song of the Year — was presented to Justin Timberlake for “Can’t Stop the Feeling.”

Timberlake said his hit song, from the movie Trolls, is about inclusion.

"I want to take this opportunity to speak to young people," he said. "If you are black or you are brown or you are gay or you are lesbian or you are trans -- or maybe you're just a sissy singing boy from Tennessee -- anyone that is treating you unkindly, it's only because they are afraid or they have been taught to be afraid of how important you are.

“Because being different means you make the difference,” he said. "So f**k them.”

The iHeartRadio Music Awards, hosted by Ryan Seacrest, featured performances by Katy Perry, Big Sean, The Chainsmokers with Chris Martin, Ed Sheeran, and Bruno Mars — recipient of the Innovator Award.

Shawn Mendes performed his hit "Mercy" on the show.

Click here to see the full winners list.