Willie Nelson Drops ‘Last Man Standing’

Country legend Willie Nelson released “Last Man Standing” on Friday, the first single and title track from his upcoming album. 

In keeping with the tradition of releasing new music for his birthday, the iconic singer/songwriter announced Friday the album will be released on April 27, right before he turns 85.

Last Man Standing will feature 11 tracks penned by Nelson and longtime collaborator/producer Buddy Cannon, and is said to be one of the singer’s most personal and introspective works to date. 

With an opening line like "I don't want to be the last man standing. Oh wait a minute, maybe I do," Nelson appears to satirize his age, similar to his 2017 God’s Problem Child track “Still Not Dead.” Recent concerns over the country singer’s health have emerged after Nelson was forced to cancel his February concert dates due to the flu. 

Nelson is expected to return to the stage next month and is currently scheduled for a number of US tour dates up until November.

See the full track list for Last Man Standing below:

1. "Last Man Standing"

2. "Don't Tell Noah"

3. "Bad Breath"

4. "Me and You"

5. "Something You Get Through"

6. "Ready to Roar"

7. "Heaven Is Closed"

8. "I Ain't Got Nothin'"

9. "She Made My Day"

10. "I'll Try to Do Better Next Time"

11. "Very Far to Crawl"