St. Clair College Getting Ready to Honour Graduates

Six graduates of St. Clair College will be recognized next month.

The college has announced its recipients for the 27th annual Alumni of Distinction Awards.

Chantelle Bacon-Macri, Christopher Bozzetto, Barb Brown, Larry Koscielski, Justin Lammers and Nicolas Seguin are this year's recipients.

They were all nominated and have graduated in the areas of Health Sciences, Business & Information Technology, Skilled Trades, Media Art & Design and Community Studies.

College spokesperson John Fairley says these recipients graduated between 1983 and 2014.

"It's a good day when we're able to talk about graduates because one thing as great as the college is, the most important thing is when they graduate," says Fairley.  "I think this year is a diverse group of alumni who have had very substantial impacts in their community and also some are very very talented."

Fairley says he enjoyed calling the recipients to share the news.

"I think all cases they did not even know there were being nominated so that's kind of a fun thing for us that I can make that phone call and says on behalf of the president, the alumni and the college you're going to be celebrated this year as an honouree of the college and some are just like what, what," says Fairley.

He says the college has honoured more than 100 graduates since 1992.

"This is kind of a fraternity of about 125 in the 52-years of the college since this program started," says Fairley.  "So it's a very very prestigious thing that someone who has an impact in their community or in business or just humanity or just being very creative has been able to lead the way."     

The awards were created in 1992 to to celebrate the graduates outstanding commitment, passion and dedication to their respective communities and families.

Some past winners include AM800's Lynn Martin, Rocco Tulio and Robin Greenall.

The award ceremony takes place at the St. Clair Centre for the Arts. on Friday, May 10.