New Board Named for Carnival

Vernon Winter Carnival held their AGM at the Vernon Winter Carnival office this week.

Chair Deb White is back for a two year term.  She says highlights focused on the huge success of 58th Carnival, Carnival in Wonderland as well as what the future holds for the home of Carnival.

“We are very happy that the City is working with us to help us find a new home” says White “they have been great and have been in contact with me several times”

An election was held for the vacant seats of Chair, Secretary and Treasurer as well as 3 spots as directors.
The new board of directors for the 59th Vernon Winter Carnival is:

Chair:  Deb White
Vice Chair: Martin von Holst
Secretary: Corinne Van de Crommenacker
Treasurer:  Brian Langner
Directors: Collen Heater, Ruth Hoyte, Todd Millar, Laurell Cornell, Annette Timm, Roel Van de Cormmenacker, Paul Cousins and new to the board are Rod Koenig, Carol von Holst, Kirbey Lockhart and Joy Stafford.

“We are so fortunate to have such a great community where people are so willing to be involved. The Board has a lot of experience with the past directors however it is always exciting to add new directors as they bring fresh ideas” Chairperson White said. “We will start meeting in June for preparation of the 59th Carnival. A pirates Carnival will be very exciting!
Vernon Winter Carnival would also like to extend a huge thank you to the Directors who retired from the board last night; Pat Loehndorf, Mike Smallenberg both were an integral part of Carnival and will be sadly missed by the Board of Directors.

White says it was an emotional night for the board when long time Board member, June Rigby, retired from the board after 37 years. “June is a very integral part of carnival and I don't know what we are going to do without her, but I do have her phone number. The office will not be the same without her.”