10 people named to the Order of New Brunswick

A well-known Canadian soprano from Fredericton is among 10 people named to the Order of New Brunswick on Monday.

Measha Brueggergosman is being recognized for her achievements in the performing arts and for her contribution to the music community and industry in the province.

Brueggergosman, along with nine others, were named during the official New Brunswick Day celebrations in Edmundston.

"Through their leadership, work and dedication, they have inspired others and have helped advance the economy, education and health care in New Brunswick," Premier Brian Gallant said in a statement.

Business leader Richard J. Currie from Rothesay is being invested for his contributions to the social, economic and cultural fabric of New Brunswick through his dedication and significant support of public education.

Jacqueline Webster, from Fredericton, was named for her impact on the social and cultural life of New Brunswick through her contribution to the field of journalism.

And Dr. Michael Perley, from Woodstock First Nation, is being recognized for his devotion and exemplary patient care, for his contribution to the province’s medical community and his involvement with First Nations communities to ensure the improved delivery of health services.

Other recipients announced on Monday include:

  • Normand Caissie, from Richibucto, for his outstanding work in the economic development of his community and the province;
  • Susan Chalmers-Gauvin, from Riverview, for her passion and vision to create Atlantic Canada’s first professional ballet company thereby enhancing the province’s economic potential as well as its cultural diversity and artistic excellence;
  • Erminie Cohen, from Saint John, for her outstanding impact on adoption, her dedication and commitment to volunteerism and her compassion in helping change the lives of New Brunswick’s most vulnerable;
  • Raimo Kokkonen, from Trout Book, for his dedicated commitment to the advancement of the biathlon sport in New Brunswick and for his dedicated service in support of veterans;
  • Donat Lacroix, from Caraquet, for his outstanding contribution to the promotion of Acadian and francophone culture and traditions through his music; and
  • Léopold Thériault, from Tracadie, for being an outstanding leader in steel-structure manufacturing and for his legendary generosity, community engagement and commitment to youth.

This year's recipients will be presented with their awards this fall during a ceremony at Government House in Fredericton.

More than 150 individuals have been invested with the Order for their dedication and service to the province, its people and communities since 2002.