Fitzpatrick and Clapperton named UNB Athletes of the Year

Siobhan Fitzpatrick, of the women’s volleyball team, and Chris Clapperton, of the University Cup Champion men’s hockey team, have been named the UNB Reds female and male Athletes of the Year.

Fitzpatrick led the Atlantic University Sport conference in kills and points per set.

The fifth-year outside hitter, playing her final year of U SPORTS eligibility, and her one and only season with the Reds after four at UBC-Okanagan, earned 1st Team All-Canadian status while helping the Reds to the AUS championship match.

Clapperton led the AUS in scoring and led the country in assists.

He was named the AUS MVP, a 1st Team All-Canadian, and a University Cup All-Star.

Clapperton helped the Reds to their second straight AUS championship and the school’s 8th national championship.

“Chris and Siobhan were standouts on their teams, in the conference and nationally,” said John Richard, UNB’s Director of Athletics. “They haven’t just led statistically, they’ve led their teams with their work ethic and desire to succeed. They’re both more than deserving of these honours.”

As UNB’s female Athlete of the Year, Fitzpatrick was awarded the Colin B. Mackay Shield.

As the Reds male Athlete of the Year, Clapperton earned the James Downey Shield.

“We had a wonderful class of athletes this past season. Chris and Siobhan had some significant competition,” said Richard.

Goaltender Kendra Woodland, from the Reds women’s hockey team, was named UNB’s female Rookie of the Year, while Eduardo Luchese, of the men’s volleyball team, earned male Rookie of the Year honours. Both were named to U SPORTS All-Rookie Teams.

Fifth-year defenceman Randy Gazzola, of the men’s hockey team, won the Garnet Copeland Award for the second year in a row.

Gazzola was named the top all-round student-athlete. Consideration for the award includes academic performance, athletic accomplishment and community contributions.

Reds men’s hockey team head coach Gardiner MacDougall took home the Dean’s Award for Coach of the Year.

MacDougall led the Reds to their 16th AUS Championship, their 12th consecutive AUS regular season title, and their 8th University Cup. The national championship was the team’s third in four years, and the 7th under MacDougall.

“Gardiner has proven, consistently, that he’s one of the best coaches in all of Canadian university men’s hockey,” said Richard. “He is constantly looking for ways to improve, which is a source of inspiration for all of our coaches.”

Kristian D’Amore, a four-year member of the men’s soccer team, was named winner of the Brunswickan Award, for having the highest cumulative grade point average through the end of the first term.

Outgoing UNB President and Vice Chancellor Eddy Campbell was honoured with the James Born Award, for his significant contributions to athletics during his time.

“Doctor Campbell has always placed a lot of importance on athletics,” said Richard. “He’s been a supporter of all of our Reds programs and an advocate for them. He’s been a big part of what we’ve been able to do, as a program, in recent years, and we felt he was worthy of the Born Award.”

The awards were handed during the Reds Awards Gala, at the Richard J. Currie Center, on Tuesday night.

(Submitted by UNB Reds)


Male Athlete of the Year: Chris Clapperton - Men’s Hockey
Female Athlete of the Year: Siobhan Fitzpatrick - Women’s Volleyball
Male Rookie of the Year: Eduardo Luchese - Men’s Volleyball
Female Rookie of the Year: Kendra Woodland - Women’s Hockey
Garnet Copeland Award: Randy Gazzola - Men’s Hockey 
Brunswickan Award: Kristian D’Amore - Men’s Soccer
James Born Award: Dr. Eddy Campbell
Coach of the Year: Gardiner MacDougall - Men’s Hockey
Directors Unsung Hero Awards: Megan Campbell - Women’s Basketball, John Curry - Men’s Volleyball


Women’s Basketball
Rookie: Katie Daley
Red & Black: Jane Boyle
MVP: Mikaela Dodig

Men’s Basketball
Rookie: Sterling Simpson
Red & Black: Will Legere
MVP: Chris Spurrell

Women’s Volleyball
Rookie: Katie MacDonald
Red & Black: Cameron Rogers
MVP: Maggie McLenahan

Men’s Volleyball
Rookie: Eduardo Luchese
Red & Black: John Curry
MVP: Brad Stewart

Women’s Soccer
Rookie: Madison Goertz
Red & Black: Emily Burton
MVP: Abby Sullivan

Men’s Soccer
Rookie: Tristan Nkoghe
Red & Black: Nick Ellingwood
MVP Off.: Ben Gorringe
MVP Def.: Joe Hamilton

Women’s Hockey
Rookie: Jenna MacLean
Red & Black: Jennifer Bell
MVP: Kendra Woodland

Men’s Hockey
Rookie: Matthew Boucher
Red & Black: Randy Gazzola
MVP: Chris Clapperton

Women Track & Field
Rookie: Lexie Shannon
Red & Black: Anne DeWeyert
MVP: Sydney MacDonald

Men’s Track & Field
Rookie: Eric Hughes
Red & Black: Brandon Cleghorn
MVP: Jarod Manuel

Women’s Swimming
Rookie: Hannah Casey
Red & Black: Sarah Kelly
MVP: Leah Smal

Men’s Swimming
Rookie: Erik Staeben
Red & Black: Michael Walz
MVP: Noah Horwood

Women’s Curling
Rookie: Keira McLaughlin
Red & Black: Brigitte Comeau
MVP: Justine Comeau

Men’s Curling
Red & Black: Jack Smeltzer-McCausland
MVP: Evan MacKnight

Women’s Cross Country
Rookie: Emmanuelle Martin
Red & Black: Jill Lamb
MVP: Hannah Cormier

Men’s Cross Country
Rookie: Alex Clemis
Red & Black: Isaac Cull
MVP: Michael Colford

Men’s Wrestling
MVP: Mustafa Saeed