N.B. Department of Health issues Level 1 heat alert for most of the province

The New Brunswick Department of Health says a Level 1 Heat Alert has been issued for several regions in the province. 

The department has issued a number of Tweets, indicating the areas in which the heat alert applies. 

Some of these areas include Fredericton and Southern York County, Oromocto and Sunbury County, Grand Lake and Queens County, Woodstock and Carleton County, Stanley-Doaktown-Blackville Area, and Grand Falls and Victoria County. 

The Level 1 Heat Alert has also been issued for the Bathurst Chaleur region, Acadian Peninsula and Campbellton and Restigouche County. 

The Heat Alert and Response System (HARS) has three levels that are based on three factors characterizing extreme heat, including intensity, duration, and night-time exposure. 

When a Heat Alert Level 1 is issued, certain vulnerable people, including those with pre-existing respiratory and cardiovascular diseases, may be impacted. 

The alert is set to remain in effect Saturday and Sunday.