NB Proud award given to twelve high school graduates

Twelve high school graduates have each been awarded $1,000 by Opportunities New Brunswick for their post-secondary studies. 

The NB Proud Award provides graduates with a non-renewable award to help them attend post-secondary educational institutions within New Brunswick. 

Economic Development Minister Francine Landry says the program received the highest number of applications this year since it began three years ago.   

Government says the selection committee evaluated more than 300 students who exemplified the ideas of NB Proud, including teens with a strong desire to pursue their studies in the province with a positive outlook on the future. 

The recipients as per the government news release are:

•Joshua Armstrong, Riverview High School, Riverview.

•Joël Brideau, Polyvalente W.-Arthur-Losier, Petit-Tracadie.

•Émile Couturier, École Sainte- Anne, Fredericton.

•Félix Couturier, Cité des Jeunes A.-M.-Sormany, Edmundston.

•Gabrielle Desjardins, École Marie-Gaétane, Kedgwick.

•Victoria Gray, Hampton High School, Hampton.

•Morgan LeBlanc, Bonar Law Memorial School, Rexton.

•Jackson Lirette, Miramichi Valley High School, Miramichi.

•Kevin MacIntyre, St. Stephen High School, Chamcook.

•Amélie Michaud, École secondaire Népisiguit, Beresford.

•Caitlin Moore, Simonds High School, Saint John.

•Emma Sytsma, Carleton North High School, Royalton.