New members invested into the Order of New Brunswick

Ten new members have been invested into the Order of New Brunswick.

A ceremony was held Wednesday at Government House in Fredericton with Lt.-Gov. Jocelyne Roy Vienneau.

The 2017 inductees were presented with an Order of New Brunswick medal and are entitled to use the initials ONB after their names.

This year's honorees include business leader Richard J. Currie, Susan Chalmers-Gauvin, who created Atlantic Canada’s first professional ballet company, and soprano Measha Brueggergosman.


2017 recipients of the Order of New Brunswick:

  • Normand Caissie, from Richibucto, for his outstanding work in the economic development of his community and of the province.
  • Raimo Kokkonen, from Trout Book, for his dedicated commitment to the advancement of the biathlon sport in New Brunswick and his dedicated service in support of veterans.
  • Susan Chalmers-Gauvin, from Riverview, for her passion and vision to create Atlantic Canada’s first professional ballet company thereby enhancing the province’s economic potential as well as its cultural diversity and artistic excellence.
  • Jacqueline Webster, from Fredericton, for her impact on the social and cultural life of New Brunswick through her contribution to the field of journalism.
  • Dr. Michael Perley, from Woodstock First Nation, for his devotion and exemplary patient care, for his contribution to the province’s medical community and his involvement with First Nations communities to ensure improved health delivery and services.
  • Measha Brueggergosman, from Fredericton, for her achievements in the performing arts and for her contribution to the music community and industry in New Brunswick.
  • Léopold Thériault, from Tracadie, for being an outstanding leader in steel-structure manufacturing and for his generosity, community engagement and commitment to youth.
  • Donat Lacroix, from Caraquet, for his outstanding contribution to the promotion of Acadian and francophone culture and traditions through his music.
  • Erminie Cohen, from Saint John, for her outstanding impact on adoption, her dedication and commitment to volunteerism and her compassion in helping change the lives of New Brunswick’s most vulnerable.
  • Richard J. Currie, from Rothesay, as a top business leader and for his contribution to the social, economic and cultural fabric of New Brunswick through his dedication and significant support of public education.