Nominations open for several municipal byelections

Voters in several New Brunswick communities could be heading to the polls next month.

Nominations have opened in six communities to fill eight vacancies in byelections on May 15.

Residents in the soon-to-be incorporated rural community of Haut-Madawaska will also elect a mayor and eight councillors.

Byelections will be held if more than one candidate is nominated for a position by 2 p.m. Friday.

Also on May 15, residents in 10 local service districts in northeastern New Brunswick will vote on forming a rural community with the Town of Lamèque and the Village of Sainte-Marie-Saint-Raphaël.

The local service district included in the vote are:

  • Cap-Bateau;
  • Coteau Road;
  • Haut-Lamèque;
  • Miscou;
  • Petite-Lamèque;
  • Paroisse Ste-Cécile;
  • Pigeon Hill;
  • Paroisse Shippagan;
  • Pointe-Alexandre; and
  • Pointe-Canot.

Nomination papers can be picked up from a municipal returning officer or at local municipal offices, or can be printed from the Elections New Brunswick website.