Oromocto First Election elects chief and council

Oromocto First Nation has elected its chief and council — this time for a four-year term instead of two.

The Daily Gleaner reports council opted to follow the First Nations Election Act instead of the Indian Act in Friday's election.

Chief Shelley Sabattis, the community's first female chief, was re-elected for another term.

Chris Atwin, Ryan Atwin and Allan Sabattis-Atwin are returning as councillors, along with newly elected councillors Jason Buchanan and Stefan Saulis.

Around 300 of the roughly 500 people on the voter list cast a ballot.