Province announces changes to cabinet

The province has announced some changes to the cabinet Friday. 

The changes are due to the upcoming retirement of Environment and Local Government Minister Serge Rouselle. 

Premier Brian Gallant says he would like to thank Rouselle, who is retiring from politics after the next election, for his service to New Brunswickers. 

Government says Andrew Harvey will become the Minister of Environment and Local Government, while Shippagan-Lamèque-Miscou MLA Wilfred Roussel will join cabinet as minister of Agriculture, Mines, and Rural Affairs, which was the former portfolio of Harvey.

A complete list of ministers as per the Government of New Brunswick news release is included below (*denotes a change or addition):

- Brian Gallant*, premier, president of the Executive Council, attorney general, minister responsible for Innovation, minister responsible for the Premier’s Council on Disabilities, minister responsible for Women’s Equality, and regional minister for Saint John and Southwestern New Brunswick;

- Stephen Horsman, deputy premier, minister of Families and Children, minister responsible for military affairs, and regional minister for Greater Fredericton;

- Denis Landry, minister of Justice and Public Safety;

- Rick Doucet, minister of Aquaculture and Fisheries, minister of Energy and Resource Development, and government house leader;

- Brian Kenny, minister of Education and Early Childhood Development, and minister responsible for Official Languages;

- Bill Fraser, minister of Transportation and Infrastructure, minister responsible for Intergovernmental Affairs, minister responsible for the Northern and Miramichi Funds, minister responsible for the Regional Development Corporation, and regional minister for Central New Brunswick;

- Roger Melanson, president of the Treasury Board, minister of Post-Secondary Education, minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs, and minister responsible for Trade Policy;

- Francine Landry*, minister of Economic Development, minister responsible for La Francophonie, minister responsible for Opportunities NB, and regional minister for Northern New Brunswick;

- Cathy Rogers, minister of Finance, minister responsible for Literacy, and regional minister for Greater Moncton and Southeastern New Brunswick;

- John Ames, minister of Tourism, Heritage and Culture, and minister responsible for Poverty Reduction and the Economic and Social Inclusion Corporation;

- Lisa Harris, minister of Seniors and Long-Term Care, deputy government house leader, and minister responsible for Celtic Affairs;

- Benoît Bourque*, minister of Health, and minister responsible for Service New Brunswick;

- Andrew Harvey*, minister of Environment and Local Government;

- Gilles LePage, minister of Labour, Employment and Population Growth; and

- Wilfred Roussel*, minister of Agriculture, Mines and Rural Affairs.