Saint Mary's First Nation, Fredericton named as one of 20 finalists in Smart Cities Challenge

The City of Fredericton and Saint Mary's First Nation have been jointly selected as one of 20 finalists in the federal government's Smart Cities Challenge. 

The partnership will receive a $250,000 grant to further develop their ideas into a final proposal to compete for a $10 million prize. 

A summary of the joint submission from Saint Mary's First Nation and Fredericton says the group has proposed a Personalized Inclusion Plan that would aim to connect people and establish a "Digital Fredericton" that collaborates with First Nations to create an accessible, welcoming, supportive city for youth, newcomers, and an aging population.

The finalists were announced Friday by Amarjeet Sohi, the Minister of Infrastructure and Communities, after more than 200 communities from across Canada responded to the challenge. 

Government says this new, competition-based approach aims to encourage communities to come up with innovative solutions that have the potential to improve their communities in areas such as reconciliation, protection of Indigenous language and culture, food security, and affordable housing. 

The four winners of the top prizes will be announced in spring 2019. 

A full list of the 20 finalists as identified in the federal government news release is included below: 

  • Biigtigong Nishnaabeg First Nation, Ontario 
  • Bridgewater, Nova Scotia 
  • Cree Nation of Eastmain, Quebec 
  • Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, Quebec
  • Yellowknife, Northwest Territories 
  • Airdrie and Area, Alberta 
  • Communities of Nunavut, Nunavut 
  • Côte Saint-Luc, Quebec 
  • Greater Victoria, British Columbia 
  • Guelph and Wellington County, Ontario 
  • Parkland, Brazeau, Lac Ste Anne and Yellowhead Counties, Alberta
  • Richmond, British Columbia 
  • Saint Mary's First Nation and Fredericton, New-Brunswick
  • Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
  • The Pas, Opaskwayak Cree Nation, and Kelsey, Manitoba 
  • Edmonton, Alberta 
  • Montreal, Quebec
  • Quebec City, Quebec 
  • Region of Waterloo, Ontario 
  • Vancouver and Surrey, British Columbia