Several N.B. municipalities to host byelections in May

Byelections and a first-election will take place in several New Brunswick municipalities next month.

Residents in Salisbury, Le Goulet and Maisonette will each elect one councillor on May 15.

Those in the soon-to-be-incorporated rural community of Haut-Madawaska will elect a mayor and eight councillors.

Four vacant council seats in the communities of Kedgwick, Saint-André and Shippagan were elected by acclamation.

Also on May 15, residents in 10 local service districts in northeastern New Brunswick will vote on forming a rural community with the Town of Lamèque and the Village of Sainte-Marie-Saint-Raphaël.

Polls will be open from 10 a.m. until 8 p.m., and there will also be one day of advance voting on Saturday, May 6.