Will Butler Announces New Album & Releases First Single


Will Butler has announced that he will be releasing a new album called Generations next month. In addition, he released a new single called "Close My Eyes." In a statement, he said, "I tried to make the lyrics a straightforward and honest description of an emotion I feel often. Drive for change coupled with despair: ‘I'm tired of waiting for a better day. But I'm scared and I'm lazy and nothing's gonna change.'"

He continued, "Kind of a sad song. Trying to tap into some Smokey Robinson/Motown feeling—"I've got to dance to keep from crying."

Generations is set to be released on September 25th via Merge Records.

Check out the Generations tracklisting below::

"Outta Here"


"Close My Eyes"

"I Don't Know What I Don't Know"


"Hide It Away"

"Hard Times"


"Not Gonna Die"