Loyal Wooldridge re-elected as RDCO Board Chair

RDCO Chair - Loyal Wooldridge (wings)

Following a secret ballot vote at today’s Regional District of Central Okanagan Board meeting, directors re-elected Loyal Wooldridge to serve as the Board Chair. This is Wooldridge’s third year as the Board Chair, succeeding Gail Given in 2021.

“I am grateful for the vote of confidence from my peers. With the challenges our communities have faced recently, including recovery following the Grouse Complex wildfire and impeding changes in emergency act legislation, as Chair, I will provide steady and consistent leadership for our region,” said Wooldridge. “As a Board, we will continue to advance our strategic priorities to deliver an exceptional quality of life for our residents, protect the environment we call home and work collaboratively with the syilx / Okanagan people to tackle the issues that impact us all.”

Wooldridge has served on the Regional Board since 2018, the same year he was first elected to Kelowna City Council. Wooldridge is well-known in the local business community and passionately supports many social causes that foster diversity and inclusion, climate resiliency and sustainability.

Director Kevin Kraft was elected as Vice-Chair, succeeding Mayor Gord Milsom who served as Vice-Chair from 2018 to 2023.

“I want to thank Mayor Milsom for his five-years of decided service and leadership as Vice-Chair and welcome Director Kraft to the role,” said Wooldridge. “Mayor Milsom has provided exceptional leadership and mentorship to me and our colleagues over the last five years. It has been a privilege to lead alongside him and I am grateful for his continued role with the Board.”

Kraft is the Electoral Area Director for Electoral Area East and was elected to the board in 2022. Kraft has been actively involved in the Electoral Area East community as a past member of the Ellison Fire Department, President of the Ellison Parks and Recreation Society and Director on the Okanagan Sun Board.

“I’m honoured to serve as Vice-Chair and look forward to working alongside Chair Wooldridge and the Board to support our region,” said Kraft. “As an Electoral Area Director, I hope to bring a new perspective to Board leadership and balance the needs of our rural and urban communities.”

The 13-member Regional Board meets twice monthly and manages fiscal and policy issues arising as part of local governance for the Central Okanagan. Appointed and elected members represent the four municipalities, two electoral areas of the Regional District and a non-voting member for Westbank First Nation Chief and Council.